Chartered Financial Analysts (CFA) India

The Institute of Chartered Financial Analysts of India

The Institute of Chartered Financial Analysts of India was established in the year 1984 as a non-profit society registered under the A.P. (Telangana Area) Public Societies Act 1350F (Act 1 of 1350F) to offer the their flagship certification program for financial analysts known as CFA. The Institute was set up with the guidance from the leaders of the Indian Industry, CAs , PHDs,Bankers and academicians along with consultations from SEBI,Indian Ministry and other Indian bodies. The Association of Investment Management and Research(AIMR) the parent body of the present CFA Institute had a working relationship with ICFAI in the 1980s and was instrumental in setting up ICFAI. The CFA trademark was taken by AIMR and ICFAI jointly in India and later changed to 'in Use' by ICFAI after AIMR and ICFAI parted ways.

(ICFAI) represents India in the ASAF (Asian Security Analysts Federation, Australia). This is in no way affiliated to the CFA Institute of USA. The ICFAI's CFA course is designed for the Indian financial sector. This charter has the backing and recognition of EFFAS (European Federation of Financial Analyst Societies) and allows Indian ICFAI charter holders who have been conferred the CFA designation subject to membership in CCFA, to directly appear for the final CIIA exams from ACIIA.


The CFA Program is a postgraduate professional program with the following broad objectives :

* To impart thorough knowledge of concepts in Corporate Finance, International Finance, Investment Management and Financial Services.
* To improve the ability to develop a framework for financial analysis and to rationally evaluate alternatives for purposes of decision-making.
* To deepen insights into practical applications of financial analysis in a dynamic business environment.
* To develop appreciation of the interface between financial analysis and other areas like economics, management, investments, financial markets, international finance, financial services and corporate strategy.
* To encourage future finance professionals to equip themselves with the latest IT tools and techniques.
* To develop a new body of knowledge and skill-set and make them available for those seeking challenging careers in the new era of liberalization and globalization.

The ICFAI Approach

  • The CFA Program follows seven distinctive but inter-related approaches :
  • Theoretical studies aimed at improving candidates' understanding of certain fundamental phenomena and relationships underlying the changing world.
  • Applied studies linking the theoretical studies to the practical problems faced by managers.
  • Practical exposure to industry practices takes place through a variety of activities like training under practice school program, project work, management development programs, seminars, conventions etc.
  • Global Perspective to business by encouraging the candidates to appreciate and get exposed to the international business environment and practices.
  • IT Orientation by providing a strong focus on information technology and its linkage with finance.
  • E-Business Framework aimed at encouraging the candidate to deepen their understanding of financial management and analysis in the era of E-Business leading to virtual delivery of financial services.
  • Ethical Focus aimed at inculcating in the candidates an ethical approach in their professional interactions and a sense of personal, corporate, and social responsibilities.
CFA - Working Level Knowledge

Group A

* Financial Accounting - 100 points
* Economics - 100 points

Group B

* Quantitative Methods - 100 points
* Financial Management - 100 points

Group C

* Financial Markets - 100 points
* Financial Statement Analysis - 100 points

CFA - Expert Level Knowledge

Group D

* Equity: Analysis & Valuation - 100 points
* Fixed Income Securities: Analysis & Valuation - 100 points

Group E

* Derivatives: Analysis & Valuation - 100 points
* Portfolio Management - 100 points

Group F

* Mutual and other Funds - 100 points
* Professional Ethics and Case Studies - 100 points

Total 1200 points

The Examination for each subject is of 3 hours duration. Each group has two Papers of 3 hours each. Students who complete all the groups are entitled to receive the MFA Degree from ICFAI University, Tripura and the CFA Chater from the Institute at the same time.

Related Posts by Categories


Engineering News

Central Board of Secondary Education

Architecture News

Management News

Medical News

Journalism News